2018 Section Chairs

Program Chair
Farida Jalalzai
Oklahoma State University
farida.jalalzai.npsa@gmail.com

Congress, the Presidency & Courts
All aspects of legislative studies, presidential research, constitutional law and the courts including the intersection of and relationships among the three branches.
Tom Schaller
University of Maryland
schaller@umbc.edu
State and Metropolitan Politics
All aspects of state, metropolitan and neighborhood politics, federalism and intergovernmental relations.  Sub-federal work in the field of American political development is welcome.
Daniel J. Mallinson
Penn State Harrisburg
mallinson@psu.edu
Parties, Interest Groups, Social Movements, & Electoral Behavior
All aspects of U.S. parties, interest groups, social movements, political behavior, elections, and public opinion.
Dante Scala
University of New Hampshire
Dante.Scala@unh.edu
Public Policy and Public Administration
All topics in public policy and public administration.
Carl Taylor
Walsh University
ctaylor@walsh.edu
Ancient and Medieval Political Philosophy
All aspects of Ancient (Greek, Roman) and Medieval (Jewish, Christian, Islamic) political thought.
Gregory McBrayer
Ashland University
gmcbraye@ashland.edu
Modern Political Theory
Machiavelli to Harriet Taylor Mill, including but not limited to normative political theory and the history of ideas. We welcome proposals on political thinkers between 1500-1850 from outside the Western tradition.
Marc Sable
Universidad Iberoamericana-(Mexico City)
msablephd@gmail.com

Andreas Avgousti

University of Washington
Andreas.Avgousti@gmail.com
Continental Political Thought
Includes but not limited to German idealism, phenomenology, hermeneutics, existentialism, post-structuralism, post-modernism, critical theory, French feminism, Nietzsche, and Marxism.
Elizabeth Amato
Gardner-Webb University
eamato@gardner-webb.edu
Democratic Theory
All topics in contemporary democratic theory including deliberative democracy, identity politics, group rights, and citizenship.
Harvey Strum
Sage College
strumh@hotmail.com
American Political Thought
All topics in American political thought.
John Grove
Lincoln Memorial University
john.grove@lmunet.edu
International Relations
Topics in international studies broadly defined, including international relations theory, international law and organizations, foreign policy, globalization, human rights, human security, international development, conflict resolution, military/strategic studies, feminist theory/gender studies, and international political economy.
Dolan, Chris
Lebanon Valley College
dolan@lvc.edu
Comparative Politics
All areas of comparative politics, including the politics of advanced industrial, post-communist, or developing countries; cross-regional studies; broad theoretical issues such as democratization, economic development, globalization, and ethnic and nationalist conflict are welcome.
Brian Mello
Muhlenberg College
bmello@muhlenberg.edu
Identity Politics

This section welcomes papers, panels and roundtable proposals dealing with gender, race, ethnicity, sexuality, and religion, particularly papers and panels on the impact of these identities on political participation and representation in various local, national, and transnational institutions of governance; substantive, symbolic, and descriptive representation; the formation of political identities, and public policy-making. Topics pertaining to different regions of the world and utilizing a variety of methodological perspectives are welcome. Papers examining the interplay between any of these identity categories are also desired.

Young-Im Lee
Sacramento State University
young-im.lee@csus.edu
Environmental Politics & Policy
Topics may include, environmental movements; environmentalism, its variants or rivals; environmental policy formation and implementation; environmental regimes; management of common pool resources; environmental policy analysis; and sustainable development. Interdisciplinary approaches are especially welcome.
Guy Bellino
Salem State
gbellino@salemstate.edu
Teaching, Learning, & the Profession
All aspects of undergraduate and graduate teaching, especially in the areas of integrating technology into the curriculum, the use of cooperative and collaborative learning techniques, and experiential learning. Proposals are also welcome on the future of the profession and on professional education in political science, including approaches to preparing new professionals for academic and non-academic positions.
Chris Cook
University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown
ccook@pitt.edu
Popular Culture & Politics
All works that explore the intersection of popular culture and politics. Especially relevant are papers that examine the ways in which film, television, literature, and music depict political institutions, affect political socialization, shape public opinion and serve as a tool for explaining concepts and fostering debate. Papers that explore popular culture as an instrument for providing context and diverse perspectives are also welcome.
Sikata Banerjee
University of Victoria
sikatab@uvic.ca
Politics and History
We welcome paper and panel proposals which contribute theoretically, conceptually, and empirically to our understanding of history and politics, covering the broad scope of the study of politics, policy, and institutions using historical perspectives to address issue areas of contemporary concern. We are especially interested research that cuts across American and comparative perspectives and on different parts of the world.
Rina Verma Williams
University of Cincinnati
Rina.Williams@uc.eduShamira Gelbman
Wabash College
gelbmans@wabash.edu
Undergraduate Research
An opportunity for promising undergraduate political science students to experience a professional academic conference and to contribute to our understanding of politics while showcasing outstanding student research. Individual and collaborative papers in any area of political science are welcome. Proposals should include contact information of the faculty sponsor of the research.
Paula Holoviak
Kutztown University
holoviak@kutztown.edu
French Language Panels
Since the conference is in Montreal, our Canadian colleagues and students are invited to submit papers and panels that will be written and presented in French in any of the topics covered by the above sections.Panels en Langue Française
Du fait que notre conférence aura lieu à Montréal, les collègues et étudiants canadiens sont invités à soumettre des communications,  panels ou tables rondes dans les sous-filières sus-indiquées.
Christina Xydias
Clarkson University
cxydias@clarkson.eduGuy Lachapelle
Concordia University
guy.lachapelle@concordia.ca