Three-Country MA in Europe

The Department of Political Science at the Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz (Germany) offers the tri-national MA “European Studies” together with the Department of Political Science of the Uniwersytet Opolski (Opole/Poland) and the Faculty for Law and Political Science of the Université de Bourgogne (Dijon/France). The consecutive 4-semester MA programme is certified in all three participating countries and will start again in the winter term 2019/20 (October 2019).

The postgraduate programme provides participants with specialized knowledge about European cultures and societies (Opole), European politics (Mainz) and European law (Dijon). Furthermore, students acquire intensive personal “European” experience by studying and living together in three European countries.

The degree is a tri-national MA in European Studies: Students study the first semester in Opole (Poland), the second semester in Mainz (Germany) and the third semester in Dijon (France). For the final semester – dedicated to an obligatory internship, the writing of a master’s thesis and the final exam – participants can choose between one of the three universities. After successfully completing the programme, graduates receive national degrees from all three universities.

There are NO tuition fees!

Students may obtain funding from the Deutsch-Französische Hochschule/Université Franco-Allemande (DFH/UFA) and through the Erasmus+ programme (if they have not received Erasmus funding (EU funds) before).

 Application Procedure:

The application procedure starts 1 April 2019.

When should applicants submit their documents?

1 April – 15 May 2019

Detailed Information on the degree and application procedure is available at:


 [email protected]