Best Paper Awards

Polity Award 2016

Jeremy Waldron (right), 2015 Best Polity Paper, and Roger Karapin, Polity Editor


Best Lanahan Graduate Student Paper
“Political Machines, Mixed Electoral System, and Gender: Challenges for Continuing Political Career for South Korean Female National Legislators”
Young-Im Lee, University of Missouri-St. Louis



Best Pi Sigma Alpha Paper
“Prejudice and Party Support in the Obama Era”
Jonathan Knuckey, University of Central Florida

Best Women & Politics Paper
“Europeanizing Portugal: Impacts on the Relationship Between the Executive and the Women’s Movement”
Daniela Melo, Connecticut College

Best Female Political Scientist Paper
“Of Terrorism Types and Countermeasures: No One Size Fits All”
Dorle Hellmuth, The Catholic University of America

Best Lanahan Graduate Student Paper
“After Victory: The Impact of Divergent Marriage Equality Discourses on Movement Opportunities”
Julie Hollar, CUNY Graduate Center

Best McWilliams Faculty Paper in Political Theory
“Preliminary Remarks on the Study of Political or Latin Averroism”
Joseph C. Macfarland, St. John’s College

Best McWilliams Graduate Student Paper in Political Theory
“Donations and Democracy”
Ted Lechterman, Princeton University

Best Polity Paper (Volume 46: 31-55)
Jeremy Waldron’s Partial Kant: Indigenous Proximity, Colonial Injustice, Cultural Particularism
Jimmy Casas Klausen