2017 Section Chairs

Program Chair
Lanethea Mathews-Schultz
Muhlenberg College
mathews@muhlenberg.edu

Congress, the Presidency & Courts
All aspects of legislative studies, presidential research, constitutional law and the courts including the intersection of and relationships among the three branches.
Lisa Parshall
Daemen College
lparshal@daemen.edu
State and Metropolitan Politics
All aspects of state, metropolitan and neighborhood politics, federalism and intergovernmental relations.  Sub-federal work in the field of American political development is welcome.
Kathy Javian
Swarthmore College
kjavian2@swarthmore.edu
Parties, Interest Groups, Social Movements, & Electoral Behavior
All aspects of U.S. parties, interest groups, social movements, political behavior, elections, and public opinion.
Dante Scala
University of New Hampshire
Dante.Scala@unh.edu

Brian Arbor
John Jay College, CUNY
barbour@jjay.cuny.edu

Public Policy and Public Administration
All topics in public policy and public administration.
Carl Taylor
Walsh University
ctaylor@walsh.edu
Ancient and Medieval Political Philosophy
All aspects of Ancient (Greek, Roman) and Medieval (Jewish, Christian, Islamic) political thought.
Greg McBrayer
Morehead State
g.mcbrayer@moreheadstate.edu
Modern Political Theory
Machiavelli to Marx, including but not limited to normative political theory and the history of ideas.
Marc Sable
Bethany College
msablephd@gmail.com

Andreas Avgousti
Columbia University
Andreas.Avgousti@gmail.com

Continental Political Thought
Includes but not limited to German idealism, phenomenology, hermeneutics, existentialism, post-structuralism, post-modernism, critical theory, French feminism, Nietzsche and Marxism.
Elizabeth Amato
Gardner-Webb University
eamato@gardner-webb.edu
Democratic Theory
All topics in contemporary democratic theory including deliberative democracy, identity politics, group rights, and citizenship.
Harvey Strum
Sage College
strumh@hotmail.com
American Political Thought
All topics in contemporary American political thought.
John Grove
Lincoln Memorial University
john.grove@lmunet.edu

David Alvis
Wofford College
AlvisJD@wofford.edu

International Relations
Topics in international studies broadly defined, including international relations theory, international law and organizations, foreign policy, globalization, human rights, international development, conflict resolution, military/strategic studies, feminist theory/gender studies, and international political economy.
Koop Berry
Walsh University
kberry@walsh.edu
Comparative Politics
All areas of comparative politics, including the politics of advanced industrial, post-communist, or developing countries; cross-regional studies; broad theoretical issues such as democratization, economic development, globalization, and ethnic and nationalist conflict are welcome.
Brian Mello
Muhlenberg College
bmello@muhlenberg.edu
Identity Politics
Gender, race, and ethnicity in relation to power both within and outside political institutions. Of particular interest are papers focusing on how these factors (and possible intersections) impact political leadership, representation, and public policies in American and comparative contexts. All methodological perspectives are welcome.
Christina Xydias
Clarkson University
cxydias@clarkson.edu
Environmental Politics & Policy
Topics may include, environmental movements; environmentalism, its variants or rivals; environmental policy formation and implementation; environmental regimes; management of common pool resources; environmental policy analysis; and sustainable development. Interdisciplinary approaches are especially welcome.
Guy Bellino
Salem State
gbellino@salemstate.edu
Teaching, Learning, & the Profession
All aspects of undergraduate and graduate teaching, especially in the areas of integrating technology into the curriculum, the use of cooperative and collaborative learning techniques, and experiential learning. Proposals are also welcome on the future of the profession and on professional education in political science, including approaches to preparing new professionals for academic and non-academic positions.
Chris Cook
University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown
ccook@pitt.edu
Popular Culture & Politics
All works that explore the intersection of popular culture and politics. Especially relevant are papers that examine the ways in which film, television, literature, and music depict political institutions, affect political socialization, shape public opinion and serve as a tool for explaining concepts and fostering debate. Papers that explore popular culture as an instrument for providing context and diverse perspectives are also welcome.
Nick Dorzweiler
Wheaton College
dorzweiler_nick@wheatoncollege.edu
Politics & History
All topics in politics and history.
Saldin Ambar
Rutgers University
sma409@lehigh.edu
Undergraduate Research
An opportunity for promising undergraduate political science students to experience a professional academic conference and to contribute to our understanding of politics while showcasing outstanding student research. Individual and collaborative papers in any area of political science are welcome. Proposals should include contact information of the faculty sponsor of the research.
Paula Holoviak
Kutztown University
holoviak@kutztown.edu
NPSA Women’s Caucus
Invites papers analyzing the status of women in political science and the evolution and state of the discipline in gender studies, as well as roundtable participants for a conversation on women in the profession, to discuss issues regarding hiring, tenure/promotion, scholarship/publication, mentoring practices, and other issues affecting women’s livelihood in the discipline and academia, more broadly.
TBD
(If interested in the position,
write to the Program Chair)